Philadelphia Union Announce Protected List For 2017 MLS Expansion Draft

Union name list of protected players in advance of Los Angeles Football Club’s selections

CHESTER, Pa. (Dec. 10, 2017) – Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Tuesday, December 12 at 2:00 p.m. ET, the Expansion Draft gives Los Angeles Football Club the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

Protected from selection by LAFC are the following players: Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Jack Elliott, Marcus Epps, Fabinho, Fabian Herbers, Ilsinho, Haris Medunjanin, Fafa Picault, Keegan Rosenberry and CJ Sapong.
Additionally, the following Union players are automatically protected as either Generation Adidas players who have not graduated as of the end of the 2017 MLS season, or Homegrown Players on a club’s Supplemental/Reserve roster: Anthony Fontana (HG), Derrick Jones (HG), Adam Najem (HG), Auston Trusty (HG) and Josh Yaro (GA).
Each MLS club that competed during the 2017 season is able to protect 11 players between their Senior, Supplemental and Reserve Roster. If the player’s contract expires at the end of 2017, as is the case with Fabinho, he will still be considered part of the club’s Senior Roster. In the case of Fabian Herbers and Ilsinho, if a club protects a player, it is not obligated to exercise the player’s option. It may renegotiate a new budget number for the player as in previous years, subject to the CBA. Option Decline Free Agents and Out of Contract Free Agents are part of the Expansion Draft and are not automatically protected.
For full MLS Expansion Draft rules, please click here.

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow the Union's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.