Press Release

Andre Blake named finalist for MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

#PHIvATL- Andre Blake

NEW YORK (November 15, 2021) Major League Soccer today announced finalists for the 2021 MLS Year-End Awards, honoring the top performers on and off the field during the regular season. With the spread of finalists recognizing players from 15 MLS clubs, the wealth of talent features more teams with finalists than in any of the last four years.

Representing the Philadelphia Union on the finalists list is goalkeeper Andre Blake who is up once up for the Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year. Blake has won the award twice in his career, taking the award in 2016 and 2020. In 2021, Blake tied the club record for the most shutouts in a single season (12) while also picking up his 500th career save and 50th career league shutout. Blake is joined by Nashville SC goalkeeper Joe Willis and New England Revolution keeper Matt Turner for the 2021 award.

The finalists (in alphabetical order) which follow below earned the most votes in polling among three voting groups:

  • Current MLS players.
  • MLS club technical staffs (coaches, technical directors/GMs)
  • Select group of media members.

2021 Major League Soccer Award Finalists

Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player Finalists: Valentín Castellanos (New York City FC), Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC), João Paulo (Seattle Sounders FC), Dániel Sallói (Sporting Kansas City).

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Matt Turner (New England Revolution), Joe Willis (Nashville SC).

Defender of the Year Finalists: Yeimar Gómez (Seattle Sounders FC), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC).

Newcomer of the Year Finalists: (For this award, “newcomer” is defined as a player who made his MLS debut in 2021) Cristian ‘Chicho’ Arango (Los Angeles Football Club), Ryan Gauld (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Eduardo ‘Chofis’ López (San Jose Earthquakes).

AT&T MLS Young Player of the Year Finalists: (For this award, “young player” is defined as a player age 22 (born on or after Jan. 1, 1999) Julián Araujo (LA Galaxy), Tajon Buchanan (New England Revolution), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas).

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists: (Honors an MLS player who has overcome injuries and/or adversity in order to achieve success during the 2021 regular season.) Carles Gil (New England Revolution), Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernández (LA Galaxy), Dániel Sallói (Sporting Kansas City).

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Finalists: Julián Araujo (LA Galaxy), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC), Brad Stuver (Austin FC).

Sigi Schmid Coach of the Year Finalists: Bruce Arena (New England Revolution), Robin Fraser (Colorado Rapids), Brian Schmetzer (Seattle Sounders FC).

Referee of the Year Finalists: Jair Marrufo, Robert Sibiga, Armando Villarreal.

Assistant Referee of the Year Finalists: Frank Anderson, Ian Anderson, Cory Richardson.

On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2024, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know


The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.