Philadelphia Union today announced that defender Kai Wagner has been named to the gameday roster for the 2021 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target. For the first time ever, the MLS All-Stars will face rival league LIGA MX All-Stars in an unprecedented match up to take place at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles on Wednesday, August 25, 2021. (9 p.m. ET, FS1 / Univision / TSN / TVA Sports).

This is the first time Wagner has been named to the All-Star Roster. He is in his third season with the Philadelphia Union where he has started 60 of his 61 appearances for the club and has tallied two goals and added 13 assists in that time. In his first season, Wagner tallied eight assists in 30 games played, ranking him first amongst MLS defenders. His eight assists as a defender also tied Sheanon Williams’ all-time single-season club record for the Union. Between 2019 and 2020, Wagner made MLS’ Team of the Week three times.

As a key piece to one of the best defensive teams in the league, Wagner has contributed to 14 clean sheets and has totaled 80 interceptions in his MLS career. His presence on the left side of the field proved to be vital in the Union’s 9-0-0 record at home in 2020 and securing the club’s first-ever Supporters’ Shield that same season.

This year, he has appeared in all 17 matches, starting 16 of those. He scored his first goal of the season for the equalizer against Chicago Fire FC that landed him his first spot on Team of the Week this season. His three assists are second most on the team and he leads the team in key passes (30) and passing percentage (84%). Thus far in the season he has 26 interceptions and 20 tackles won.

This is the first time the rival leagues will match up as the MLS All-Stars take on the top-tier Mexican league All-Stars from Liga MX. MLS All-Stars were voted in by the following: 12 players determined by a combined vote of fan, media, and players; 12 players selected by All-Star Head Coach Bob Bradley; 2 players selected by MLS Commissioner Don Garber. Liga MX All-Stars were selected by the following: The first 14 selections were winners and nominees for the Balon de Oro awards in the categories of best goalkeeper, fullback, defender, defensive midfielder, attacking midfield, rookie and forward; 11 players were selected by Cruz Azul Head Coach Juan Reynoso; and 1 player was decided by Executive President Mikel Arriola.

The complete list of all-time Union All-Stars is as follows:

2010: Sebastien Le Toux

2011: Faryd Mondragon

2012: Michael Farfan, Carlos Valdes

2013: Jack McInerney

2014: Maurice Edu

2016: Andre Blake, Keegan Rosenberry

2019: Andre Blake

2020: *No All-Star Game Held

2021: Kai Wagner

On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2022, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know
For U Kit Now Available

The For U kit pays homage to the early days of the Union and was designed with the help of the fan-based Creators’ Collective to feature details reflective of the city and its fans.