Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake voted Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake voted Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Jamaican National Team captain wins second Goalkeeper of the Year Award; Blake helped Union to League’s top defense and best record this season

NEW YORK (Monday, Nov. 16, 2020) – Major League Soccer announced today that Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake has been voted the 2020 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year.

Philadelphia led MLS with a mere 20 goals allowed this season, its 0.87 goals allowed per game average the seventh-best in MLS history, and recorded the most points-per-game in the league, earning the Supporters’ Shield and home-field advantage throughout the Audi 2020 MLS Cup Playoffs.

Blake posted a 77.8 save percentage and allowed 18 goals in his regular season appearances for an 0.88 goals allowed average, both league bests for goalkeepers with 20 or more appearances on the year. The 29-year-old’s 13 goalkeeper wins also led MLS, with Philadelphia posting a 13-3-5 overall record in matches Blake started between the posts.

Among the top moments for Blake this season include a diving save in a 2-1 victory over the New England Revolution on Oct. 19, which is one of 12 finalists for the 2020 MLS Save of the Year presented by Allstate. Fan voting ends on Wednesday, Nov. 19 at 9 p.m. ET. The 29-year-old also registered an eight-save performance on March 8 in a 3-3 shootout draw against LAFC. Blake’s eight saves in that contest are tied for the most by a goalkeeper in any regular season match this season.

Additionally, Blake was named one of five finalists for the 2020 Landon Donovan MLS MVP award, the first time a goalkeeper has been named a finalist for the award since Joe Cannon in 2004.

The Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Voting
PlayerPlayer Vote %Club Vote %Media Vote %Final Vote %
Andre Blake (PHI)33.02%49.12%50.21%44.12%
Matt Turner (NE)8.49%11.40%16.74%12.21%
Eloy Room (CLB)10.03%6.14%6.14%7.44%
Pedro Gallese (ORL)8.49%7.02%5.08%6.86%
Stefan Frei (SEA)4.78%7.89%5.30%5.99%
Sean Johnson (NYC)4.32%7.02%5.725.69%

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:

  • 2020: Andre Blake (2) – Philadelphia Union
  • 2019: Vito Mannone – Minnesota United FC
  • 2018: Zack Steffen – Columbus Crew SC
  • 2017: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
  • 2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
  • 2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United
  • 2013: Donovan Ricketts (2) – Portland Timbers
  • 2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
  • 2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
  • 2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
  • 2009: Zach Thornton (2) – Chivas USA
  • 2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
  • 2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
  • 2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
  • 2005: Pat Onstad (2) – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2004: Joe Cannon (2) – Colorado Rapids
  • 2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
  • 2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
  • 1999: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy
  • 1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
  • 1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew SC
  • 1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn
On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2023, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know


The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.