Union announce protected list for 2019 MLS Expansion Draft


Philadelphia Union Announce Protected List For 2019 MLS Expansion Draft
Union name list of protected players in advance of Inter Miami and Nashville SC selections

CHESTER, Pa. (November 16, 2019) – Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 19 at 5:30 p.m. ET, the Expansion Draft gives Inter Miami and Nashville SC the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

Protected from selection are the following players: Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Cory Burke, Jack Elliott, Raymon Gaddis, Jamiro Monteiro, Ilsinho, Fafa Picault, Kacper Przybylko, Sergio Santos, Kai Wagner, and Andrew Wooten.

Additionally, the following Union players are automatically protected as Homegrown Players on a club’s Supplemental or Reserve roster: Brenden Aaronson, Jack de Vries, Matt Freese, Anthony Fontana, Mark McKenzie, Matt Real, Auston Trusty, and Cole Turner.

After having players selected by FC Cincinnati in 2018, the following clubs are exempt from having any players chosen: D.C. United, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, FC Dallas, the Houston Dynamo and the New York Red Bulls.

The remaining 19 MLS clubs that competed during the 2019 season can protect 12 players between their Senior, Supplemental and Reserve Roster. If the player’s contract expires at the end of 2019, as is the case with Aurelien Collin, Ilsinho, Haris Medunjanin, Jamiro Monteiro, Fafa Picault, he will still be considered part of the club’s Senior Roster. For a club that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster, that team will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.

For additional information about 2019 MLS Expansion Draft Rules and Procedures, please visit https://www.mlssoccer.com/media-resources/2019-mls-expansion-draft