Union to host CF Monterrey in Leagues Cup Third Place Match


Philadelphia Union will play host to Liga MX side CF Monterrey in the Leagues Cup Third Place Match on Saturday, August 19th. Kick off from Subaru Park is set for 6PM ET with a spot in next year’s CONCACAF Champions Cup will be on the line.

Both sides will be looking to conclude their runs in the inaugural Leagues Cup with a victory after suffering their first losses in the Semifinal Round on Tuesday night. The Boys in Blue fell at home to Inter Miami CF by a 4-1 scoreline with Alejandro Bedoya scoring for the Union in his first match since July 15th. Meanwhile the Mexican giants' saw their seven-game unbeaten streak come to an end in the Music City, falling to Nashville SC, 2-0.

Tickets for the match can be secured by clicking here or the image below.

How teams can qualify

The top three finishers in this year’s revamped Leagues Cup qualify directly for next year’s expanded continental club competition, which provides a qualification route to the new and expanded 2025 FIFA Club World Cup (on US soil) and includes an increased prize money pool ($5 million).

The Leagues Cup slots for the 2024 CCC break down as follows:

  • Champion: Directly into Round of 16
  • Runner-up: Enter in Round One
  • Third place: Enter in Round One

Philadelphia Union will face off against Nashville SC and CF Monterrey with the contest on August 19th for the final automatic berth into the 2024 CCC.

Slots for 2024 CCC

Of the 27 teams competing in next year’s CCC, up to 10 MLS teams can qualify via different pathways – just over one-third of MLS’s 29 overall teams (34%).

  • MLS regular season and Audi MLS Cup Playoffs: 5 teams (guaranteed)
  • Leagues Cup: 3 teams (top three finishers)
  • US Open Cup: 1 team (champion only)
  • Canadian Championship: 1 team (champion only)

Club World Cup implications

The 2025 Club World Cup will expand to 32 teams and be hosted at various venues/cities across the United States.

Concacaf receives four slots (CCC winners) and an additional spot is given to the host nation, theoretically guaranteeing at least one more MLS team will participate in the competition.

  • 2021 CCC winner: CF Monterrey (Liga MX)
  • 2022 CCC winner: Seattle Sounders FC (MLS)
  • 2023 CCC winner: Club León (Liga MX)
  • 2024 CCC winner: To be determined
On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2024, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know


The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.