The Union won it for Philly

They did it. Nobody gave them a chance except you, and they delivered on your dream.

Silverware is not acquired easily in MLS, and the Supporters’ Shield is the most difficult of all to win. It requires consistency, resiliency, and a mentality that makes every minute the biggest minute of the game.

The Union won it for Philly.

Jim Curtin, who honors the supporters after every match. Alejandro Bedoya, who bought into the idea of leading a young, tough team. They won it for Philly.

Brenden Aaronson and Mark McKenzie, local kids who earned their way from the academy to the first team and then to the starting eleven. They won it for Philly.

Andre Blake, who went from No. 1 overall pick to Jamaican National Team captain and MVP candidate. He won it for Philly.

Ernst Tanner, who arrived with passion for developing young players and a plan that gave them the tools needed to go twelve rounds with superstars. He won it for Philly.

The entire team, the entire staff — they all wanted this trophy as bad as the soccer lovers that once sat in a local bar laying out a plan to get a MLS team in Philly, and dreaming of the day that team would bring silverware to the city.

The Union was created by the community and for the community. It is a club that had people marching through the streets before it had a name, a stadium, or even a commitment that eleven players would one day stand together and fight for their city.

Yes, they will keep going. Ray Gaddis, Kacper Przybylko, Kai Wagner and Jakob Glesnes — they will fight for more. Jamiro Monteiro, Sergio Santos, Jose Martinez and Anthony Fontana — they won’t be satisfied with one trophy.

They have already broken through and taken this club to new heights, and they did it for you.

But the work isn’t done. The work is never done.

Thank you, supporters. Thank you, Philly. This was for you.

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow the Union's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.