CHESTER, Pa. (November 28, 2021) – The Philadelphia Union beat Nashville SC Sunday evening at Subaru Park to advance to the Eastern Conference Finals of the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs for the first time in club history. While Nashville SC would strike first with a Hany Mukhtar goal in the 38th minute, the Union would snag an equalizer with the last kick of the first half. Daniel Gazdag provided the tying goal in the 45+2nd minute, scoring off a corner. It was a strong first half for the hosts, the Union outshooting Nashville six to one through 45 minutes. Despite good chances from both sides neither were able to break the deadlock in regular time nor extra time, deciding the match in penalty kicks. Jack Elliott and Homegrown midfielder Jack McGlynn both buried their penalty shots for the Union while Andre Blake did not allow a single shot past him in the 2-0 shootout victory. The Union will be making their first Eastern Conference Finals appearance in club history.

The Union will play the winner of the New England Revolution vs. New York City FC match on December 5 (3:00 p.m. ET / ABC, ESPN Deportes). If NYCFC were to advance, the Eastern Conference Finals of the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs would be hosted at Subaru Park.

Philadelphia Union 1 (2) – Nashville SC 1 (0)
Subaru Park (Chester, PA)
Sunday, November 28, 2021


Referee: Allen Chapman
Assistant Referees: Ian Anderson, Cameron Blanchard
Fourth Official: Victor Rivas
VAR: Jorge Gonzalez
Ast. VAR: Chris Elliott
Weather: 42 degrees and partly cloudy


NSH – Hany Mukhtar (Miller) 38’
PHI – Daniel Gazdag (unassisted) 45+2’

NSH – Randall Leal (caution) 90+5’


Philadelphia Union: Andre Blake; Kai Wagner, Jakob Glesnes, Jack Elliott, Alvas Powell (Nathan Harriel 109’); Jose Martinez, Leon Flach (Sergio Santos 57’), Alejandro Bedoya; Jamiro Monteiro (Jack McGlynn 105’), Daniel Gazdag; Kacper Przybylko (Cory Burke 105’).

Substitutes not used: Matt Freese, Stuart Findlay, Jesus Bueno, Paxten Aaronson, Ilsinho.

Nashville SC: Joe Willis; Daniel Lovtiz, Jack Maher, Walker Zimmerman, Alistair Johnston, Eric Miller (Jalil Anibaba 118’); Anibal Godoy, Dax McCarty (Brian Anunga 105’), Randall Leal (Alex Muyl 105’); C.J. Sapong (Jhonder Cadiz 90’), Hany Mukhtar.

Substitutes not used: Bryan Meredith, Luke Haakenson, Abu Danladi, Ake Loba, Taylor Washington.

Team Notes

  • Philadelphia Union advanced on to the first Eastern Conference Final of the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs in club history.
  • Daniel Gazdag scored his first postseason goal for the Union.
  • Andre Blake made two saves in the victory, not letting a single shot make it past him in penalties.
  • Jack Elliott and Homegrown Jack McGlynn both scored in the Penalty Shootout.
  • Jamiro Monteiro was the lone change to the Starting XI, making his fourth start in the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs.
  • Team Captain Alejandro Bedoya made his 7th start for the Boys in Blue in the postseason.