MLS News

Latest hosting scenarios for MLS Cup 2023

#PHIvCIN | The River End

Rather than having a predetermined location, the right to host MLS Cup 2023 presented by Audi on December 9th is determined by where teams finished in the Supporters’ Shield standings. After the conclusion of the First Round, it is now confirmed that the Eastern Conference Champion will host the final.

As has been the case since 2012, the finalist with the highest regular-season point total hosts MLS Cup. In the event that both finalists have the same amount of regular-season points, the team with more wins – or if they're tied in that category, better goal difference – will host MLS Cup.

As the chase for the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy is currently underway, here’s the MLS Cup 2023 hosting priority rundown as spread across the Eastern Conference and Western Conference’s.

  1. FC Cincinnati
  2. Orlando City SC
  3. Columbus Crew
  4. Philadelphia Union
  5. Seattle Sounders FC
  6. LAFC
  7. Houston Dynamo FC