MLS News

MLS Cup 2022 hosting scenarios

PHIvTOR | Team huddle

Rather than having a predetermined location, the right to host MLS Cup 2022 on Nov. 5 is determined by where teams finished in the Supporters’ Shield standings.

LAFC, winners of a second Supporters’ Shield title in four years, will own hosting priority as long as they remain in the Audi 2022 MLS Cup Playoffs.

Real Salt Lake, No. 14 overall, is the only club that can't host MLS Cup, provided they're still in the running.

As has been the case since 2012, the finalist with the highest regular-season point total hosts MLS Cup. In the event that both finalists have the same amount of regular-season points, the team with more wins – or if they're tied in that category, better goal difference – will host MLS Cup.

As the chase for the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy gets underway, here’s the MLS Cup 2022 hosting priority rundown as spread across the Eastern Conference and Western Conference’s respective seven-team fields.Here's the full hosting order for the remaining clubs:

  1. LAFC
  2. Philadelphia Union
  3. CF Montreal
  4. Austin FC
  5. New York City FC
  6. New York Red Bulls
  7. FC Dallas
  8. LA Galaxy
  9. Nashville SC
  10. FC Cincinnati
  11. Minnesota United
  12. Inter Miami CF
  13. Orlando City SC
  14. Real Salt Lake
On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2024, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know


The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.