WASHINGTON, DC. (August 28, 2021) – The Philadelphia Union took on D.C. United at Audi Field on Saturday, August 28. The Union fell 3-1, keeping them in fifth place in the Eastern Conference. The Union went up a goal in the first half after Alejandro Bedoya’s cross hit DC United defender Steve Birnbaum and deflected in for an own goal. In the 36th minute, referee Rubiel Vazquez awarded a penalty kick to DC after a VAR review of Alvas Powell’s tackle on Yordy Reyna. Ola Kamara drove home a penalty kick to even the score at one going into halftime. The home side took a 2-1 lead in the 49th minute when Yordy Reyna scored after Andre Blake made a reflex save on a Ola Kamara header. Andy Najar and Jack Elliott were awarded yellow cards in separate incident just before the hour mark as both coaches prepared changes. Jim Curtin added Quinn Sullivan and Cory Burke in place of Kacper Przybylko and Daniel Gazdag and Drew Skundrich replaced Edison Flores for DC. Philly continued to push for an equalizer as Olivier Mbaizo and Paxten Aaronson entered the game, but could not find the finish they needed. Ramon Abila added a third in the 94th minute for the home team. The Union return home for Fireworks Night at Subaru Park to take on New England Revolution on Friday, September 3 (7:30 p.m. ET / PHL17). 

Philadelphia Union 1, D.C. United 3
Audi Field (Washington, D.C.)
Saturday, August 28, 2021


Referee: Rubiel Vazquez
Assistant Referees: Peter Balciunas, Kevin Klinger
Fourth Official: Ekaterina Koroleva
VAR: Edvin Jurisevic
Ast. VAR: Eric Weisbrod


PHI – Birnbaum (Own Goal) 22’
DC – Kamara (PK) 36’
DC – Reyna 49’
DC – Abila 90+5’


DC – Najar 55’
PHI – Elliott 59’


Philadelphia Union: Andre Blake; Alvas Powell (Olivier Mbaizo 73’), Jakob Glesnes, Jack Elliott, Kai Wagner; Alejandro Bedoya (Anthony Fontana 85’), Jose Martinez, Leon Flach; Daniel Gazdag (Quinn Sullivan 61’), Jamiro Monteiro (Paxten Aaronson 73’); Kacper Przybylko (Cory Burke 60’).

Substitutes not used: Matt Freese, Matheus Davo, Jack McGlynn, Stuart Findlay.

D.C. United: Jon Kempin; Andy Najar, Steven Birnbaum, Tony Alfaro; Julian Gressel (Frederic Brillant 78’), Junior Moreno, Russell Canouse, Yordy Reyna (Felipe 85’); Edison Flores (Drew Skundrich 60’), Ola Kamara (Ramon Abila 78’), Kevin Paredes (Joseph Mora 78’).

Substitutes not used: Chris Seitz, Griffin Yow, Moses Nyeman, Yamil Asad.



2022 Season Tickets

Next season will be here before you know it so don't miss out on your chance to get Philadelphia Union Season Tickets in 2022.

2022 memberships are now available for purchase so be sure to grab the best seats at Subaru Park.

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know

The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.