Press Release

Philadelphia Union Announce Protected List For 2022 MLS Expansion Draft


Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2022 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Friday, Nov. 11, the Expansion Draft gives St. Louis the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

Protected from selection are the following players: Andre Blake, Cory Burke, Julian Carranza, Jack Elliott, Leon Flach, Daniel Gazdag, Jakob Glesnes, Jose Martinez, Olivier Mbaizo, Richard Odada, Mikael Uhre, and Kai Wagner.

Additionally, the following Union players are automatically protected as Homegrown Players on a club’s Supplemental or Reserve roster: Paxten Aaronson, Brandan Craig, Matt Freese, Nathan Harriel, Jack McGlynn, Jeremy Rafanello, Matt Real, Anton Sorenson, Quinn Sullivan, and Cole Turner.

After having players selected during the 2021 MLS Expansion Draft, the following clubs are exempt from having any players chosen: Austin FC, Atlanta United FC, D.C. United, LAFC, and New York City FC.

The remaining 23 MLS clubs that competed during the 2022 season can protect 12 players between their Senior and Supplemental rosters. If a player’s contract expires at the end of 2022, he will still be considered part of the club’s Roster. For a club that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster, that team will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.