Philadelphia Union Named Academy of the Year


Major League Soccer announced today the winners of the 2022 Mark Abbott MLS Club Awards that recognize clubs and individuals driving business, fostering innovation, and delivering value to fans and communities. Philadelphia Union tied for the league lead with five award winners including the Academy of the Year.

Philadelphia Union Academy has become a constant pipeline for talent to the United States National Team with Brenden Aaronson becoming the first Academy product to play on soccer's biggest stage in Qatar. In the youth teams, the Academy had four players part of the U.S. Under 20 squad that played key roles in helping the team secure berths in the FIFA U-20 World Cup and the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris. Paxten Aaronson Aled the U.S. attack with a brace to earn not only the tournament's Golden Boot with seven goals but was named the Golden Ball recipient as the tournament's top player. Quinn Sullivan was just behind his Union teammate with six goals in the Golden Boot race. The Academy has also had countless call-ups to the U15, U16 and U17s.

In MLS NEXT competition, the Academy claimed the MLS NEXT Championship at the U17 level with a thrilling second-half comeback to defeat the Columbus Crew, 3-2, in early July. Marcos Zambrano-Delgado won the Golden Boot in the tournament was then followed it at the MLS NEXT All-Star Game with the game-winning goal.

For more information on all the 2022 Mark Abbott MLS Club Awards the Union won, please click here.