CHESTER, Pa. (December 13, 2021) – Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2021 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 14 at 7 p.m. ET, the Expansion Draft gives Charlotte FC the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

Protected from selection are the following players: Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Jack Elliott, Leon Flach, Daniel Gazdag, Jakob Glesnes, Jose Martinez, Olivier Mbaizo, Jamiro Monteiro, Kacper Przybylko, Sergio Santos, and Kai Wagner.

Additionally, the following Union players are automatically protected as Homegrown Players on a club’s Supplemental or Reserve roster: Paxten Aaronson, Brandan Craig, Jack de Vries, Anthony Fontana, Matt Freese, Nathan Harriel, Jack McGlynn, Matt Real, Quinn Sullivan, and Cole Turner.

After having players selected in 2020, the following clubs are exempt from having any players chosen: San Jose Earthquakes, New York Red Bulls, Nashville SC, LA Galaxy, and Orlando City SC.

The remaining 22 MLS clubs that competed during the 2021 season can protect 12 players between their Senior, Supplemental and Reserve Roster. If a player’s contract expires at the end of 2021, he will still be considered part of the club’s Roster. For a club that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster, that team will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.