Leagues Cup

Union Qualify for Concacaf Champions Cup


With Philadelphia Union's win over CF Monterrey in the Leagues Cup Third Place Match, the Boys in Blue have secured their berth in to the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup!

How The Union Qualified

The Union secured their spot after picking up a 3-0 victory against the Liga MX giant on Saturday night at Subaru Park. With the win t via the automatic berths provided to the top three finishers in this year’s revamped Leagues Cup. With the spot, Philly is now part of next year’s expanded continental club competition, which provides a qualification route to the new and expanded 2025 FIFA Club World Cup (on US soil) and includes an increased prize money pool ($5 million).

The Union needed only 28 seconds to take the lead in the third place showdown, with Jesus Bueno finding the back of the net off the opening kick off. The Venezuelan midfielder continued his standout performances in the tournament between MLS and Liga MX with his second goal jumpstarting the offense while homegrown Jack McGlynn picked out a perfect pass for Mikael Uhre in first-half stoppage time to double the Union’s advantage before the break. Alejandro Bedoya added a third goal for the hosts, coming off the bench to score for the second-straight match.

With the win the Boys in Blue are headed back to the Concacaf Champions Cup for the third time in club history via the Leagues Cup automatic berth for the top three finishers in the inaugural tournament. The Union also walk away as the most successful MLS side against the clubs from Mexico with four wins against Monterrey, Queretaro F.C. and Club Tijuana.

Slots for 2024 CCC

Of the 27 teams competing in next year’s CCC, up to 10 MLS teams can qualify via different pathways – just over one-third of MLS’s 29 overall teams (34%).

  • MLS regular season and Audi MLS Cup Playoffs: 5 teams (guaranteed)
  • Leagues Cup: Philadelphia Union, Nashville SC, Inter Miami CF
  • US Open Cup: 1 team (champion only)
  • Canadian Championship: Vancouver Whitecaps

Club World Cup implications

The 2025 Club World Cup will expand to 32 teams and be hosted at various venues/cities across the United States.

Concacaf receives four slots (CCC winners) and an additional spot is given to the host nation, theoretically guaranteeing at least one more MLS team will participate in the competition.

  • 2021 CCC winner: CF Monterrey (Liga MX)
  • 2022 CCC winner: Seattle Sounders FC (MLS)
  • 2023 CCC winner: Club León (Liga MX)
  • 2024 CCC winner: To be determined
On Sale Now!

On Sale Now!

Every match matters! In 2024, you do not want to miss your favorite matchups as the Union take on the best MLS has to offer! When we score, make sure you are there to get Subaru Park shaking!

Stay in the Know
Stay in the Know


The Boys in Blue, delivered to your inbox. Tickets, deals, giveaways, and more.