Andre Blake Jamaica

Union trio help secure berths in concacaf Gold Cup

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today confirmed the sixteen teams that will participate in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup, following the conclusion of the Concacaf Nations League Qualifying Round on Sunday. 

After 68 matches in the Concacaf Nations League Qualifying Round, the following top 10  teams have qualified for the 2019 Gold Cup: Bermuda, Canada, Cuba, Curacao, El Salvador, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique and Nicaragua. 

These teams will join Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago, and United States, who all qualified by virtue of participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Hexagonal qualifier round.

Philadelphia Union duo Andre Blake and Cory Burke started in the Reggae Boyz final qualifying contest while Bethlehem Steel FC's Jamoi Topey received his first senior team call-up and made the matchday squad but did not appear in Jamaica's contest with El Salvador.

Midfielder Warren Creavalle helped play an important role with Guyana over the weekend as he made a second-half appearance that secured 2-0 victory. With the result, the country qualified for it's first appearance in the Gold Cup.

Lincoln Financial Field, home to the Philadelphia Eagles, will host a quarterfinal round doubleheader on Sunday, June 30, featuring the top two teams from both Group C and Group D. The United States (Group D) and Honduras (Group C) were previously confirmed as the seeded teams, and will learn their group opponents and schedule on Wednesday, April 10 at an event in Los Angeles.​

>The 2019 Gold Cup will be the largest-ever edition of the event, with 16 participating nations (up from 12 in 2017) and 17 stadiums (up from 14 in 2017) in three host countries. The 15th edition of the competition will run from June 5 to July 7, with the final to be held at Soldier Field in Chicago.

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow the Union's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.