Philadelphia International Unity Cup Groups Announced

The Philadelphia International Unity Cup hosted a ceremony at the Touchdown Club at Lincoln Financial Field, where the field for the tournament was announced. 

A total of 48 teams were randomly placed into 12 groups of four for the group stage of the tournament. The teams were separated into four groups: 

  • 2016 top 12 finishers
  • Asia and South America
  • African, Caribbean and Independent
  • Europe, Middle East and Central America

One team from each group was placed into groups for the tournament. 

A World Cup-style tournament held over several months, the Philadelphia International Unity Cup unites the city’s neighborhoods and celebrates its diverse immigrant communities through soccer. The brainchild of Mayor Jim Kenney, the Unity Cup became an annual tradition after its massively successful inaugural year in 2016. In the 2017 version of the tournament, an additional 12 teams were added, bringing the field to 48 teams.

To learn more about the Philadelphia International Unity Cup, click here

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow the Union's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.