US Open Cup Trophy

US Open Cup 101: Everything you need to know about America's longest running soccer tournament

The Union will kickoff their quest for the 2017 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup one week from today, when the team takes on Harrisburg City Islanders at Talen Energy Stadium on June 14 at 7:30 p.m. Tickets for the Union's Open Cup match are on sale now, but the match is free to all STM. All Union parking lots will also be free, however, Lot A will be closed. 

Philadelphia Union Foundation are also accepting donations for the match. 

But what exactly is the US Open Cup? Read below to find out.

What is the Open Cup?

Founded in 1914 and currently organized by U.S. Soccer, the Open Cup is the longest-running national soccer competition in the US. The 2017 edition is being contested by 99 clubs from all divisions of American soccer. MLS clubs join in the fourth round, where they meet teams from American soccer’s lower divisions – NASL, USL and semi-pro and amateur leagues – for a spot in the Round of 16.

The 2017 tournament is the 104th edition of the Open Cup. It officially kicked off in May, when 56 amateur clubs contested the first round. USL and NASL teams then entered in the second round, with more teams from each division being added in the third round as well.

Thirteen teams – nine from USL, three from NASL and one amateur side (Christos FC) – advanced out of the third round to take on MLS teams in the fourth round. 

What does the champion win?  

In addition to lifting the US Open Cup trophy and receiving a whole bunch of glory, the 2017 US Open Cup champion will net a berth in the 2018-19 CONCACAF Champions League and pick up $250,000 in prize money.

The runner-up won’t walk away empty-handed – they’ll grab $60,000 in prize money. Additionally, the team that advances furthest from each lower division receives $15,000.  

Who has the most titles?

Two teams from the early days of American soccer – Bethlehem Steel FC and Maccabi Los Angeles – are tied for the most titles in Open Cup history, both with five championships.

Sponsored by the Bethlehem Steel corporation, Bethlehem Steel FC were based in Pennsylvania’s Lehigh Valley and won the tournament in 1915, 1916, 1918, 1919 and 1926. Maccabi Los Angeles came had their run of prominence five decades later, winning the Open Cup in 1973, 1975, 1977, 1978 and 1981.

Five clubs have won four titles, including the Chicago Fire and Seattle Sounders from MLS. The Fire did their damage early in their history, winning the USOC in 1998, 2000, 2002 and 2006. Seattle won three-straight Open Cup titles immediately after they entered MLS, taking the trophy in 2009, 2010 and 2011 before winning for a fourth time in 2014.

Sporting Kansas City have dominated the tournament in recent years, winning in 2012 and 2015. Along with D.C. United, they’re one of two MLS clubs with three Open Cup titles. FC Dallas has two Open Cup championships, and Columbus, LA and New England all have one Open Cup title.

Why should you care?

Apart from the fact that it’s one of only three trophies available to most US-based MLS teams each year, the US Open Cup is usually wildly entertaining.

Teams from different leagues facing off can make for some interesting matches, and the single-elimination format always produces a few insane contests. Plus, there’s always the potential for a Cinderella run, with amateur clubs taking their best shot against star-studded MLS rosters. None have been more apparent than this year's run by Christos FC.

Not insignificantly, the Open Cup is also the shortest route American MLS clubs have to the CONCACAF Champions League. If you want continental glory as a fan of a US-based MLS team, the quickest way to get there is to win the Open Cup. 

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow the Union's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.